RSS Feed

Do they have Columbus Day cards?

I sure hope not. But I haven’t visited the Hallmark Store in awhile so I can’t be sure.

Columbus Day is on Monday and it’s a good day to be Italian. I remember watching The Soprano’s with my mother and how Tony and crew were offended that Native Americans were protesting the ridiculousness of such a holiday. Since Columbus was such a stand up Italian. I wouldn’t know since I never met the guy.

Below is a snippet from the episode of The Soprano’s where they sit and discuss the holiday. It is NSFW because of their choice in vocabulary. I honestly think that this is probably how most conversations go about this subject. Well maybe not most but they pretty much cover the main arguments about the holiday:

I really don’t know a whole lot about Columbus. I know that he is Italian. I know that the royals of Spain sent him on his journey. I know he ended up in the Caribbean when he was trying to get to India (fire that cartographer!). I know that he was not the nicest guy in the world. I know that because of him many indigenous people were enslaved and more were killed. But I don’t really know enough to make him be the ONE guy that ruined the Americas. It was not just him but he had a BIG influence on it.

Today during my Redditing, I came across this comic on the Oatmeal regarding all the bad things that Columbus did and how some other dude should be celebrated instead. I enjoy the information regarding Columbus but I don’t know enough about this other dude either to have a day for him. Why do we need to celebrate some white dude from another country? This is America and we should celebrate Americans. Maybe.

This leads me to how I will be spending my Monday October 14th, Columbus day: by watching movies directed by Chris Columbus. These would include (but not limited to): Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Home Alone, Mrs. Doubtfire and Adventures in Babysitting. Let alone he has acted as producer on many more wonderous films. Please join me on Monday by celebrating this Chris Columbus and not that other dude.

What say you?

