RSS Feed

Boozhoo!

Rita indizhinikaaz. Gaa-waabaabiganikaag indoonjiba.

My name is Rita. I am from White Earth. But not really I live in Maple Grove. My grandparents came from the rez. My Dad is Polish/Luxembourg/German so I am a mixed Native. I like to think I know a lot about my culture and that usually depends who I am talking to. I worked in Indian Education so that helped a bunch. I also dance jingle at powwows. Just started this year.

Prepping for Grand Entry at Mille Lacs

Prepping for Grand Entry at Mille Lacs

I live in the ‘burbs with my two cats Tonks and Smooshy. They provide much amusement to me in my life. Lately I have been reading a lot and babysitting my nephew(s).

Tonks and Smooshy

Tonks and Smooshy

I decided to start this blog based on seeing a lot more Native related topics in the media (news, music, tv) and popular culture (clothing, accessories) and how that changes how I see things about myself. Thankfully we live in a time and place where people have the option to gain more knowledge on subjects that they do not have much knowledge of. The problem is getting people to care about gaining such knowledge. I have been reading a lot of other Native bloggers about the issues and it seems to just be a roller coaster ride of issues.

I just want to spread knowledge. Because knowledge is power.

What say you?

